/SCARED OF THE DARK/

 

A post in response to the daily prompt: Darkness (07/07/16)

I was never scared of the dark when I was younger. In fact I loved it. Sitting in the garden on a night-time looking at the stars shining down. Comfortably camping in the middle of nowhere without a care in the world. Then suddenly a few weeks after leaving home and moving to uni I started to be scared to sleep with the light off and walking through dark corridors.

I’m nineteen and I was ridiculously embarrassed that I was scared of the dark. Here I am now, nineteen without a care in the world that I am scared of the dark. So what happened? What changed?

The corridors of my accommodation had automatic sensory lights that would always turn off either in front of you or behind you, a total nightmare for me. I lived on the 9th floor originally and was always scared to go up and down the stairs. I’d look down them and see pitch black, nothing. I’d look up and see pitch black, nothing. The lift was my only choice and that was known to break down quite often.

I spoke to one of my best friends’ about it that told me to try sleeping with fairy lights. Something I had but never tried and in all fairness it worked until they died in my sleep one night and I woke up to the pitch black, terrified.

My next option, some kind of night light, my lamp was always too bright! I needed something that wasn’t childish so that people wouldn’t laugh at me if they came into my room and saw it. I ended up getting a small chubby unicorn light. Cutest purchase ever. That with my fairy lights was the perfect combination.

I guess the point of this is to say that being scared of the dark isn’t childish. It isn’t something that you should be ashamed of. It’s actually something very common and something people need to face.

Let me know if you have any ways of battling the dark!

Keep being you x

 

5 thoughts on “/SCARED OF THE DARK/

  1. I am scared of sudden darkness…he he..like a sudden power failure or something… And Yupp my college hostel scared me the most in dark.. I can totally relate…

    Like

Leave a Reply

